8 Reasons you should stop watching news channels right now

What goes in comes out, mostly in a worse form. The modern life style does this to every one of us. The modern foods like pizzas, pastas, burgers (marketed with a higher price tag for extra cheese..wow) and various other fast foods packaged beautifully, colorfully and deliciously are luring us to consume them instantly. Result: Obesity, fat people all around, lazy bums, young people with cholesterol, diabetes and even heart diseases. Like everyone, I have also fallen into this trap, gained weight and luckily, now back to my healthy ways now (more on this in my later post)

Something similar is happening to our brains as well. In this age of information overload, we are constantly hit by unnecessary junk news 24/7. Just like our stomachs, our brains are fed junk and are bloating with the same. Our bodies are accumulating unnecessary calories and fats, instead of healthier alternatives, falling for the instant gratification trap. Similarly, our brains are accumulating junk information. The whole media is also playing a cruel trick on all of us misleading us to think that more information is equivalent to wisdom.

I feel people are becoming sad, serious and even grumpy after constantly exposed to these news channels lately. I used to feel the same when I was watching news few years back thinking that these news channels help me to become aware of things happening around me. I have now completely stopped watching News and their bullshit now. Here are few reasons why I believe why you should avoid these news channels

1. News is mostly unnecessary for you

After years of watching these news channels, I started asking if this has helped me in anyway. any news item i watch, i realized it has not helped me in my daily life at all. It was just a waste of time. All the news has just been plain irrelevant to me. I could have done so many better things than watching this shit. I could have spent more time with friends, had some real conversations (meaningful or meaningless), gone to a museum, gone on long drives, atleast could have listened to more music..

Has it helping me relax at the least? Sadly No..I feel tired and exhausted.
Is it useful to anyone? i don’t think so..

I don’t get it!!

2. News is mostly junk

Frankly, I do not care about how and why John and Bipasha Broke up. Also, a boy killing his girlfriend as she refused to wear his favorite dress, howmuch ever sad/”BREAKING” it is., it’s still junk for me.

Also, should I not not call sharukh’s latest shoe lace collection, a junk news item? these kind of news is just plain vouyeristic. I get confused if they are reporting news or creating news.

I don’t get it!!

3. News is mostly hyped

Ok, I can’t say news is 100% bullshit. But the fact is even a simple relevant news is packaged into a “it’s all over” or “it’s the greatest thing in the world” scenario by these news channels. I mean, how many breaking news can i tolerate in a day? Why can’t the news reader read the news in a normal tone instead of “YELLING” at me!! It’s not that i’m not paying enough attention to her..I AM..

I don’t get it!!

4. News is mostly biased

Interestingly, all the news channels claim that they are no more about “just news”. They are much more than that. Yes they are defininitely much more than that. They are all about “Biased Opinions”.

Even before they utter single word about the actual news, they start with a hyped/biased opinion. Why can’t the news item simply start with “India lost the third test against australia in Perth by innings and 37 runs” instead of “Is indian cricket dead? can’t indians win abroad? Is it the end of the big four?”

I don’t get it!!!

5. News channels are trying to become parallel Justice systems

There are thousands of road accidents on a daily basis in india,but one accidental death of a famous politician’s/cricketers son gets reported all across and then these news channels talk about enforcing laws…

i don’t get it!!!

I feel like a sheep now..

6. News is mostly fear and euphoria

2012, end of the world, global economic meltdown, wars, global warming, — nice one guys..good strategy to catch attention. Even I tried this in one of my blog posts.

This is the greatest new year party in the world..Love all around..Aishwarya and Salman dancing together, while Abhishek is changing Beti B’s nappies.. Barkha Dutt reporting from Goa for NDTV (I too need to get creative to generate euphoria!!..damn, how do they do it so well??)

why..why?? Oh..this one i got it..they don’t want us to change the channel…rite..?

7. News is mostly presented by bullshit non-experts claiming to be experts

“Crude Oil prices fall by 0.5% today as demand drops”

Crap..it’s just one day dude..and you are talking about demand drop..idiot!! I can write more on this..but u get the point, right?

8. News mostly makes you sad

Family burnt alive by villagers, road accident kills 50 children, woman gangraped and burnt alive, famines, deaths in summer heat, deaths in winter cold, death by rains/floods..

do you really need to waste your time and also pay for it and at the end of it all feel sad about the world and dejected about life?

It’s been 1 year since i stopped watching news..I can definitely say I feel better than watching news..

“If a news is relevant and important to you, you’ll definitely be receiving it..Trust me..It’s one of those Universal Laws of nature..

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mickey Stumbo
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 02:29:51

    Great job on this. I really liked it.

    Reply

  2. Bethany Larrison
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 06:10:16

    Hello. Basically wanted to leave a brief note and inquire where you received your wordpress blog model I am beginning own web page and absolutely really like your particular model.

    Reply

    • kalyan1161
      Feb 16, 2012 @ 08:23:04

      Thanks Beth,
      I just used the Theme “Koi”.
      But i’m really unsure about how you can use this theme for your own webpage if it’s not hosted by WordPress.

      –Cheers
      Kalyan

      Reply

  3. Otis Pace
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 10:33:43

    Thank you, I have recently been looking for info approximately this subject for a long time and yours is the greatest I have discovered so far. But, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you certain in regards to the supply?

    Reply

  4. Article Mania
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 15:10:10

    Thank you for another essential article. Where else could anyone get that kind of information in such a complete way of writing? I have a presentation incoming week, and I am on the lookout for such information.

    Reply

    • kalyan1161
      Feb 16, 2012 @ 15:56:27

      Hi,

      These are my views after reading various material and observing various news channels. I guess I might not be able to help you with any reference material as such. Please keep searching n the internet. You’ll surely fine some great stuff.

      Reply

  5. Vender Ouro
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 08:40:09

    Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn anything like this before. So nice to search out somebody with some authentic thoughts on this subject. realy thank you for starting this up. this web site is one thing that’s wanted on the net, someone with a little bit originality. useful job for bringing something new to the web!

    Reply

  6. Trackback: The World Isn’t As Scary As You Think | Graham's Thoughts

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

