Qualifications Vs Qualities

Sometimes, I think am too over qualified to do my job and I should do something great. Immediately i think, am i qualified enough to do that “something great”.  So I started searching for few successful people and read their stories.In fact, I went through the list of successful people in various fields, i realized that most of these guys started of as what society considered them unqualified. It’s not  their qualifications that made them successful but their qualities — Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, Larry Ellison and Mark ZuckerBerg etc

Looks like society is fooling us into believing that all successful people are exceptions. It is forcing us into taking the safe path of qualifications. This is just leading to some kind of boring homogeneity in society. Graduates are saddled with huge student loans unable to pursue their passions as their whole qualifications will go waste if they do something different. Relatives look at your qualifications to decide if they should give respect to yo or not.

I see some people thinking that ABC-The IIT/IIM  or  an XYZ-The Stanford/MIT Grad being equal to something like Alexander-The great or Sachin- The Master Blaster and that should automatically guarantee them to some special treatment. Qualifications are not the ones which define you, it’s the qualities you possess.

Qualifications are just some labels given to suggest a person have undergone a relevant training/course, but in no way guarantee that a person can do it better than anyone without qualification. In fact, most of the times, they are bad proxies for real talent.

In fact, I feel these qualifications can be a burden/liability to some and some sort of limitations to others. I myself thought many times, “C’mon, I’m an IITian, this business idea is too silly for my qualification”. I have seen few people not wanting to join a particular company as it has no “Qualified” people running it.

That’s why I like sports/arts. These are the fields which have never allowed the concept of official qualifications to creep in. In these fields, qualities matter more than qualifications. Imagine, if Indian cricket has a “qualification” rule mentioning that “every player should undergo cricket-Basics-1,2,3 and the Cricket-Advanced courses 1,2,3 before qualifying for international matches”, we wouldn’t even have seen greats in international cricket. In fact, most of the time, qualifications are as irrelevant.

The truth is,
We are never qualified to do anything and degrees/certificates won’t change that.
We are never unqualified to do anything in the first place and degrees/certificates won’t change that either.

If you want to do anything, just learn it, practice it, dive into in, eat it, drink it, and sleep on it. I guess that’s the only way great things were achieved. Only the qualities that you acquire/develop in real life experiences will make you qualified.

I agree, qualifications can bring you some sort of safety, but Qualifications and greatness were never tagged together. Never. Atleast, don’t let lack of qualifications deter you from doing anything.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chirag
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 18:21:39

    Awesome post.. :) I too think the similar way…

    Reply

  2. Paket Umroh
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 02:58:49

    many thanks to write article

    Reply

  3. Ketan Garg
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 05:25:50

    cool dude! very true :)

    Reply

  4. Lavinia Broich
    Feb 24, 2012 @ 18:21:34

    Heya i’m for the primary time here. I found this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out much. I’m hoping to provide one thing back and aid others such as you aided me.

    Reply

  5. how to make feather earrings
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 14:04:56

    Many thanks for an incredible submit, would examine your particular others content. thank you your thinking for this, I experienced a trifle struck by this article. Thanks again! You wanna make a good aspect. Displays the beauty through excellent info here. I do think if a greater number of people thought of it like this, they’d have got a better moment in time get the grasp ofing the difficulty.

    Reply

  6. Benita Onofre
    Mar 13, 2012 @ 10:51:43

    That is the suitable blog for anybody who desires to seek out out about this topic. You notice so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a subject thats been written about for years. Nice stuff, simply great!

    Reply

  7. Tahiti Vacations
    Mar 17, 2012 @ 15:16:11

    I’d incessantly want to be update on new articles on this site, saved to bookmarks ! .

    Reply

  8. 40th birthday tips
    Mar 17, 2012 @ 20:25:56

    I don’t leave a bunch of remarks, however after browsing through some of the comments here Qualifications Vs Qualities Bullish On Life!!. I do have some questions for you if you do not mind. Could it be only me or do a few of these comments come across like they are coming from brain dead people? And, should you be writing at other places, I would like to keep up with everything new you have to post. Would you list of all of your social community pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

    Reply

  9. Unique Wall Art Ideas
    Mar 19, 2012 @ 08:01:37

    Many thanks for an unbelievable publish, will study your particular others posts. i appreciate your ideas with this, I felt a lttle bit thump by this post. Thanks again again! You wanna make a terrific point. Displays the beauty through wonderful report here. I believe if more individuals thought about it doing this, they’d have a very better time receive the hang ofing the situation.

    Reply

  10. Ritesh
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 03:23:44

    Great post…I echo these thoughts

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

